750 Watt head... how "loud" or powerful is it?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by phayes1007, Dec 17, 2012.

1. phayes1007

phayes1007

In the process of putting together my amp rig. I've been shopping for head-cab(s) configurations for a few months now, and I'm pretty close to deciding on the head I want to buy. Got it narrowed down to a few, but the one I'm leaning towards is the GK RB1001 ii - 700/50W biamp (700 woofer, 50 to the horn)

It's $750 and just under my budget. Haven't decided on cabs yet, but I did get a chance to try out the head thru a few different ones. Most likely it'll be either a 2x12, 4x10, or 4x12* (if I can find a good deal on one, but a 4x12 would be the largest cab-size I'm considering).

I also tried the GK RB700 ii - 480/50W, which is $600, but substantially smaller. Interestingly, I couldn't really tell the difference, tone/flexibility-wise, between the two heads. Both of them gave me an equally-great impression when I played them through 2 of my basses.

Currently I'm not gigging, but I jam pretty regularly with a drummer/singer/2 guitarists and we're starting to think about moving in that direction... so even though 750W is definitely well above my power requirements, I'm wondering:

-Is there any possible drawbacks to having a more powerful head [than I need]? I'm not too concerned with the fact that I'd save $150 if I went with the RB700ii.

-How much "louder" is a 700/50W head compared to a 480/50W? (assuming both amps are running somewhat near maximum capability but with at least some headroom to spare). I'm not looking for an answer in decibels or anything numerical. More like a description of a venue-size or gigging situation* that would be appropriate/more-or-less ideal for those amp wattages (*not one involving going thru to a PA-system, just to keep things simple).