1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

80's Peavey Super Ferrite opinions

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by DavidEdenAria, Jan 6, 2014.

1. DavidEdenAria

DavidEdenAria

Okay I have a 1985 Foundation with 2 Super Ferrites, all stock.

Where do you folks set the pickup height and do you also use the 2 bass volumes much if any?

I have come to like my Aria Pro II bass because it has 2 pickups with 1 volume and a 3 position toggle like a Gibson guitar. so its easy to set the volume with only 1 volume control.

However, I am new to bass and know that many really dig the Super Ferrites on the 80's Peavey basses but they are a hotter pickup than J bass vintage style pickups.

Do you folks get closer to a vintage J bass tone by rolling the bass volumes back on your Peavey basses and setting the pickups at a specific height?

OR, do you forget about sounding anything like a J bass and roll with the Foundation pickups for what they are....which folks tell me are a "jazz bass on steroids"?

Do you use the bass volumes on these Foundations much at all?

2. invalidprotocol

invalidprotocol Supporting Member

I'm no Peavey Foundation expert but I feel it's sell is the aggressiveness of its pickups and got one to fill that role. I also have an Fender jazz and they are different animals. Rolling off the volume pots will help but in the end it is still a foundation. You might also consider lowering the height of the pickups, or just let it be the animal it is.

3. RED J

RED J Play what you want how you want & quit arggerin ! Supporting Member

My Foundation is a little different. I replaced the tone control with a Seymour Duncan Blackouts two band tone circuit. I am astounded at the sound I can get out of this bass.