85 Guild Pilot Pups and G string.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DataDan, Dec 10, 2013.

1. DataDan

DataDan

I have been playing a mid 80's guild Pilot for about 2 years. I have rotosound flatwounds on it, and I think it has the original EMG actives.

I got this bass with non-working electronics out of a guys closet about 10 years ago and fixed it up the best I could.

I am worried that the pups are holding back my sound.
    •They look physically worn.
    •The J pickup is significantly quieter than the P.
    •I get good sound from the P pickup on the top strings, but the G string just doesnt come through. G is very quiet with no deep tone. This is what bothers me the most.

I feel like I have dialed in so many different settings.

Any suggestions from the community here?

I am considering buying a new set of EMG PJ actives (or maybe even go passive) to replace the current set.

I plan on getting a Tech 21 DI either way in January.
  2. DataDan

DataDan

Here is the best pic i could find of the pups.

[​IMG]
  3. Webtroll

Webtroll Rolling for initiative Supporting Member

I don't know if EMG pickups break in a way they become weaker, maybe you need to double check the wiring? Maybe swap the leads and see if it's still weaker using the pot for the other pickup?
  4. spufman

spufman Supporting Member

If you change the pickups you'll probably need to change the pots as well, since the EMGs are active and might use an odd resistance (maybe a mis-match is your problem). My '86 Pilot 5 is issue-free in the electronics department. If it was my bass I'd probably slip a set of DiMarzio Model P+J in there, ideally from the TB Classifieds. Good pickups for that bass and pretty cheap.
  5. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

"...fixed it as best I could.'