1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

8x10 grill cloth replacement build thread

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by thedudebrah, Jan 4, 2013.

1. thedudebrah

thedudebrah

I'm preparing to dig into my ampeg 810 cab and replace the grill cloth with the 70's silver cloth. A few years back I let a friend talk me into spray painting the grill orange to match his cab :rolleyes:

So this thread is going to be updated as I'm doing the job. I know it's a fairly popular mod, but this is my first time tackling it myself. It's probably going to look like garbage and everyone will get to laugh at me lol:p

Anyone that's done it, feel free to chime in with tips. I'll probably have a few questions.

Here's what I'm starting with:

[​IMG]

2. JonnyAngle

JonnyAngle Supporting Member

The most important thing is to make sure you get it on straight. When you start to staple it, be mindful!

3. punkrocko

punkrocko Supporting Member

4. thedudebrah

thedudebrah

Awesome read. Very helpful. Good thing I have a can of black spray paint handy, I totally forgot that the wood underneath is going to have orange spray paint on it lol.

That diagram shows the staples on the sides of the baffle, but my ampeg has all it's staples along the back edge. I will not be reinstalling the white piping. Think it'll be an issue?

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. JonnyAngle

JonnyAngle Supporting Member

Staple it where the staples are now. Sometimes there is Velcro that needs a flat surface on the back of the wood frame.

7. thedudebrah

thedudebrah

So it begins!

Got the emblems, piping and Velcro dots off the back. Easy.

[​IMG]

Now comes the hard part. The staples holding the cloth in are a pain.

[​IMG]

8. thedudebrah

thedudebrah

Progress. Time to sand and paint the frame.

[​IMG]

9. thedudebrah

thedudebrah

Painted frame:

[​IMG]