1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

A Basic Technique Question

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by mslisaj, Dec 20, 2013.

1. mslisaj

mslisaj

I am a very basic beginner bass player. While I have had my gear for years I am getting good enough now that I can play along with many songs I like and this is my goal. As I watch professional players and try to learn from them I am always marveled at the subtle and slight moves they actually make with their left hand on the fret board. Consequently this is where my practice is working to now. Recently I was working on a new bass line from a song and after I figure out all the notes my fingers were all over the fret board. So I start to work out the notes to keep my hand from running all over the neck. Well I got it down pretty well and then I discovered two notes of this five note pattern that I could play on open strings. This did not feel natural to me nor did I have the ability to mute the string quickly. Here is my question. What is the preferred method to play a note? Finger on or an open string?

I so enjoy the bass and have even taken straight guitar lessons to build some theory to work on. But these subtle questions like this I have no one to ask so thank you gentlemen for indulging me in this simple question. Where I live I haven't found any bass instructors.
    Thanks for your help.

Lisa
  2. ghostfather

ghostfather