1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

A Calus Question about Caluses.

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Bin Son of Bin, Jan 14, 2013.

1. Bin Son of Bin

Bin Son of Bin

Hi all. Good afternoon.

My question today is on Caluses. In the Orchestral world, do we want serious caluses or not?

I was noticing as I was practicing that my caluses were building up and thought of it as a good thing. I'm sure it helps with stopping strings of course but do Profesional Orchestral DB'ers want caluses or soft finger tips (or medium caluses?) for one reason or another?

Jason

2. Matt Burri

Matt Burri

Although I'm in no way a professional, I would say "medium" is kind of what ends up happening...When I started playing seriously my fingers got really hard, almost like fingernails even. They were extremely difficult to maintain and had a lot of trouble with cracking. As I've continued to play, I've found that the caluses have almost integrated into my fingers; instead of having rock hard sections of dead skin, its almost like the pads on those fingers are just a little bit more durable than the others.

I wouldn't worry about it too much, just take care of any problems you're having to make sure you don't get hurt!

3. David Potts

David Potts

You say tomayto, I say tomarto. You say calus, I say callous. No matter, we still need some. The hardening and thickening comes from pressing and shifting yet without it there is pain from pressing strings down (especially in 1/2 Position) and shifting feels like you have the brakes locked on (made even worse if the neck is varnished and dirty!). No callous might also effect pitch, tone and vibrato because of the softness of the skin and pad. Too much may effect sensitivity of touch.