1. Please note: We are performing several software upgrades tonight, Sept 29th. Please bear with us. You may notice some formatting issues and other bugs.

A Definitive Arpeggio Practice Method?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by VeganThump, Jan 12, 2014.

1. VeganThump

VeganThump

Hello all, I need help. I need, as the title states, a definitive arpeggio practice method. I have searched quite a bit, but I haven't found anything to my liking. I'm not a beginner and I'm familiar with the fretboard, scales, etc. I know what an arpeggio is, I just need a specific way to practice them. I basically need a routine to practice, something like, "do this and this for this amount of time" Can anyone be of assistance?

2. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Jeff Berlin's book (Comprehensive Chord Tone System) comes to mind. Goes through all chords in all inversions all over the fretboard.

I used to shed with this, picked three different chords a week and off I went. A bit hard at first but is really a work-out...

3. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Best advice I have is to do them in an organized fashion from the harmonized scale- something I got from Jaco Pastorious' DCI video instruction. Simply playing arpeggios (like playing scales) is of limited use BY ITSELF. So, if you do not understand the harmonized scale[SUP]*[/SUP] learn that first.

Start with the I chord and play its arpeggio (and harmonize the 7th chords, do NOT stop at the triad). Play it ascending, and then descend on the ii chord, up on the iii, down on the IV, up on the V, down on the vi, up on the vii, down on the I, up on the ii, etc. until you run out of neck. So, in G you'll play GBDF, then GECA, BDFA, BGEC, etc. Now, here's the key that makes this useful- SING what you're playing before you hit the note- this forces you to HEAR what the arpeggio sounds like and fix it in your ear rather than just making movements with your hands.