A review of my Schertler Stat-B

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Basschair, Jan 11, 2008.

1. Basschair

Basschair .............. Supporting Member

Media:
    I started another thread about issues I was having with my now month-old Stat-B, and as it turns out the issue was that I had a brain fart. The pickup/preamp are just fine. In the process of getting help, I received a reply request and a pm request to post my thoughts and experiences with this particular pickup, so here's the new thread on it.

First off, here's some information about me and my setup:

When I started playing, I'd been playing EB for about 8 years. I made the transition in college, and studied exclusively classical with minimal pizz. This was about 11 years ago. I've recently started to do the jazz books/charts thing, and I do alright. My theory is very good, albeit based on classical and "20th century) type stuff. Anyway, I've worked pretty hard to emulate the predominate pizz techniques I've seen/heard, especially Reid's approach to creating an even, balanced sound from bottom to top. I still bow quite a bit, about 60/40 bow/pizz.

I'm playing through the following: custom Wilfer 4 with a deeper rib and C extension (wooden, diatonically stopped). Belcanto long E, Evah Pirazzi A, Permanent D/G. I've got a Realist (newer version) under the E foot of the bridge, and the Stat-B tucked into the hole under the G side arm of the bridge. I'm also using the Stat Pre (not the pre AII or AIII). I took a signifigant amount of time shaping the cork of the Stat-B to get the right fit: I cut off some excess and used an emory board to slowly remove the remaining excess cork to fit it just right: nice and snug, won't fall out, but can easily be removed. I'm running directly into an AI Contra 310 BA with no extension cabinet (yet), with the bright knob halfway between a clockface's 12 and 1, the mid knob at about 11...the others are at 12.