A string jumping out of nut

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Slap_N_Slide, Mar 31, 2014.

1. Slap_N_Slide

Slap_N_Slide

I have just tried a slightly lighter set of strings on my fender jaguar, for a test. And adjusted neck relief, action and intonation.

The A string was jumping out of the nut, I shortened the string a little so there are only 2 winds round the peg, and the string is lower on the peg....the extra downward pressure is holding it in ok just now.

When I inspected the nut slot for the A string it is in the form of a V, and although I am an engineer to trade and not a luthier, this does not look correct to me and seems to be why it is jumping out when struck hard, or under bend.

Could I be looking at a new nut due to heavier strings wearing a larger groove that the string is jumping out of. The old e string I think was an 85 and the new is 80.

Or....Could I get away with filing the nut slots?

if so what distance should the string be away from the fret board at the nut? And what profile should I form it to?

Regards
  2. 96tbird

96tbird Supporter Supporting Member

Should be rounded and slanted toward the tuner so that the string only touches the nut in a small point at the fret side.

String height. 1) Fret 1st fret and look at clearance over the second fret.

2) Then, fret third fret and look at clearance over the first fret. Make the clearance here at least as low as step 1). Should be about the thickness of a piece of paper.
  3. Slap_N_Slide

Slap_N_Slide

Ok great thanks, need to get a wee set of files now.

Should these checks and adjustments be done with neck relief set in playing position. Ie as fender recommend

Or should i straighten the neck again before performing this?
  4. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member