1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

?? about 5 String Basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ScottBlasko, Sep 10, 2013.

1. ScottBlasko

ScottBlasko

Hey all, I'm rather new to the bass ( i'm a guitarist and drummer) and would like to know if it is somewhat normal to keep the low string an E instead of a B and add a higher string instead? So no low B but a higher string like an a 6 string. Any info would be super. Thanks!
  2. hdracer

hdracer Supporting Member

Yes,
    A lot of people do it. Or just use a 6 string.
  3. fretlessman71

fretlessman71

Most people tune that higher string to a C, to keep the series of 4ths from string to string. I have seen people (Tim Bogert) tune it to a B because they play chords and like the guitar shapes they can get. YMMV.
  4. SRFSterling5

SRFSterling5

The E to C thing is pretty popular, more so for those that do the chordal stuff. Personally I prefer the B to G but my advice is do what you feel comfortable with. No right or wrong way, just different approaches.
  5. Wallace320

Wallace320

Buy a 6 string set (B, E, A, D, G, C)

Tear B string apart and install just E, A, D, G, C string on your 5 string bass

Install a Hipshot bass extender on your lower string (E string, prone to reach D note in this very case)

Tune the bass a full step lower, releasing trussrod and saddle tension accordingly.

Now you'll have D, G, C, F, Bb (C, G, C, F, Bb with detuner on)