Absolute newbie needs instrument advice

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by fourfingers, Jan 25, 2014.

1. fourfingers

fourfingers

Though I am not a beginner at musical instruments, I want to move into country bass. I need some advice on type of bass guitar, bass amp and learning material.

I am an oldie, I definitely do not have a problem with learning something new at 73.

I can't think of any place to start but amongst the experts.

Thank-you.
  2. ih8law

ih8law Supporting Member

Do you have any particular concerns about cost, mobility (i.e., weight of the bass and amp), and power (i.e., minimum/maximum wattage or volume)? The stock answer to this is probably "P-Bass through an Ampeg," but what you have in mind might dictate something different.
  3. eldoryder

eldoryder I just LOVE me some Vintage Peaveys! Supporting Member

I agree generally with the above, but I can't help thinking that any of THESE would also look perfectly at home on the Grand Ole Opry stage!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

FENDER CORONADO BASS

4. fourfingers

fourfingers

I am pretty much a home or garage jam session player now. I suppose one could say that I just want to play bass while at home and listening to some good old country music.

Cost, I don't want to start out with a wash tub and a broom stick bass so I'll say in the range of $400.00 for the guitar and $300.00 for the amp. (I don't think I need any thing larger than a Session 500 or so ) No gizmos for add on sounds. Basically, just picking along with the music I listen to.

Weight won't be a factor after hauling around an 80 lb steel guitar for thirty years.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. TinIndian

TinIndian