Absolute newbie with question about right shoulder

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by kolai, Nov 15, 2012.

1. kolai

kolai

Quick background: I'm absolutely new to bass , have had one lesson and that was this week. I have practised at home but kept it to approx 40 minutes.

The next day I noticed my right shoulder was sore/achey/warm feeling.

Prior to having bass lessons I have spent the best part of a year having weekly treatment/therapy on my shoulder, so it's not the best to begin with anyway.

I have read conflicting info re beginner aches and pains and stress etc. I note a number of people say there should be no pain and there are those that say there will be some discomfort as you are using muscles in ways that they haven't been used before (or for a long time).

I have watched the havic5 right hand video and was to bass my right hand on this . i.e having the shoulder as the mechanism that held up the forearm and in turn this linked to a straight wrist. I couldn't help but wonder if I'd been using the shoulder too much and pulling it up too high, as in if you looked at me my shoulders wouldn't be at he same height (the right would be higher). I'm gonna try again and use a mirro this time.

I did notice this morning while looking at the different ways the shoulder could move that one may be able to move the elbow further out from the body (if you imagine you were standing on a clock face you be moving the elbow around the clock face anti-clockwise.

So ...I guess I was wantin some more insight into 'do beginners really never feel discomfort or pain ' after there first lesson ? I know my technique wont be perfect straight off .
  2. fearceol

fearceol

Pain should never be experienced when playing the bass. This is not to be confused with the burning feeling
    often experienced. This is a build up of lactic acid, and the burning sensation usually goes if the hand is rested for about ten or fifteen seconds.