1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Acoustic 370 Cab Pairing (General Bass Rig Questions)

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by eggcident, Feb 23, 2014.

1. eggcident

eggcident

hey, everybody:

this is my first time posting on here, so please bear with me haha.

i'm looking to upgrade my bass rig; currently, i have a gk 700rb ii that i'm running through an ampeg svt 410 hlf with an mim jazz bass. i absolutely hate the way it sounds. it's too bassy and i constantly find myself getting lost in the mix. i want a tone that's punchy, tight, trebly, and mid-heavy that cuts through the mix. i guess many people would describe it as the prototypical "punk" bass tone if that gives you a better idea of what i'm talking about. now, i'm not sure if there is one thing to blame (the amp, the cab, or the bass) or if it's a combination of everything. i honestly don't think it has anything to do with the bass though. i've always loved the tone i've gotten out of it.

so, as a result of this, i've been looking into some new gear. specifically, i am looking at an acoustic 370. i'm really interested in a cheaper ss head, maybe a little mid-heavy, that can cut through the mix. if you guys have some other recommendations definitely let me know.

and, if i follow through on this acoustic 370 (which i'm pretty set on doing at this point haha), will my ampeg 410 hlf cab pair well with it? again, i really don't want a bass-heavy sound and i'm afraid my tone won't be clear enough. one option i was considering was purchasing an ampeg svt 410he to give me a punchier sound, but i'm not sure that it will be able to handle the acoustic 370. so, i was looking to you guys for some advice.

i'm a poor, frustrated, college student trying to build up a new rig without selling one of my limbs. please help!

2. Marko5657