1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

acoustic B20 amp how to open

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by music4fun, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. music4fun

    music4fun

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the fuse may be blown. How do I acess it? Looks as though you take out the screws on top, but it doesn't look like there is much wire from the speakers to pull unit out. Another post said the wires were hot glued so no air would pass through hole. There3 must be some way to open the Case???? thanks
  2. skychief

    skychief Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry nobody posted yet...

    i was gonna take those 4 phillips screws outa the top of the box... but then i chickened out.

    heh-heh...

    Curious to find out if there really is a user-servicable fuse in the brain.

    watching with interest...

    edit: Okay.. maybe tomorrow i take a peek under the hood to find out whats going on inside...i'll post later...
  3. RickenBoogie

    RickenBoogie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you need to ask.......iow, best to take the amp to a qualified amp tech.
  4. SurferJoe46

    SurferJoe46

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Typically on the Acoustic gear I have - those 4 Phillips screws allow the chassis/housing that encloses the amplifier section to drop down ever so slightly and then is fed out of the cabinet case itself.

    So far - all my Acoustic stuff has the amps slide out to the rear. It would not be impossible that your unit - to which I have no privileged personal information nor experience MIGHT come out through the front.

    Many Peaveys are like that and one has to also remove the corner guards to facilitate their removal.

    The wires to the driver(s) are indeed sealed into the cab top which is the enclosure for the driver(s) and is sufficiently long to allow you to reach into the amp chassis and unplug them from the PC board long before you run out of wire length.

    Inside the Acoustic amps I have (B600H, B-450, B-200H) - there is a fuse that has a soldered SFE/AGC-form receptacle for the replaceable fuse.
  5. skychief

    skychief Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, just pulled the B20 brain out of the enclosure.

    the brain can only slide out the back.

    While pulling out the brain, the wires to the driver came unplugged from the PCB. There was not sufficient length of wire to pull the unit out.

    I then had to splice in an 8" length of speaker wire.

    There is a small fuse located near the power transformer.

    In summary, if you're gonna pull the brain, be prepared to lengthen the driver wires (white & black).

    If you're not handy with soldering, Id recommend you let a tech do this. ;)
  6. music4fun

    music4fun

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks skychief, yes I can solder. Just never seen an amp that wasn't more open for access to fix. poor design. now to get it open and see what kind of fuse I need and where to get one. THANKS AGAIN.
  7. SurferJoe46

    SurferJoe46

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then if you want an Eye-opener just try to take an amp section out of a Peavey!

    You've gotta take the corners off the cab.

Share This Page