Acoustic Bass... Ibanez AEB5E... Anyone have experience with it?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bassman Ski, Mar 22, 2014.

1. Bassman Ski

Bassman Ski Supporting Member

Looking for a good cheap acoustic bass and I saw the Ibanez AEB5E for $200.00.

Now I saw an Ovation for $300.00

What do you guys think? Pay the extra for the Ovation or is the Ibanez good.

I am not looking for anything high end. Just maybe some open mic nights with my singer at small coffee shop type venues.

The Ibanez:
    [​IMG]

Ovation Applause:
    [​IMG]

2. Orangeclawhammr

Orangeclawhammr Supporting Member

I just sold my AEB5 because I bought a Gold Tone MicroBass. The AEB5 served a purpose, but I never really liked its size. Before I bought it, I had a Sky acoustic bass that I thought sounded better, but it had a neck like a roller-coaster. The Ibanez is medium scale (32"), if that makes a difference to you. I have no experience with the Ovation.

If you get the Ibanez, keep it adequately humidified. The top on mine started to collapse due drying out.

3. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member

4. FloridaTim

FloridaTim

I got the ABE10E and have been very happy with it. Used at GC for a fraction of new. Paid more for the case than the guitar.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Tbone76

Tbone76

I had an AEB10 when I first started playing, and it was a solid bass with a decent preamp and good acoustic sound. I also bought an Applause by Ovation 4 string and returned it within 2 days. The acoustic sound was non-existent, and the bowl shaped back was uncomfortable to play standing. When seated the body shape would make the bass shift away from my body. These may not be issues or you, but definitely get your hands on one if possible before you buy. Good luck!

7. Mackanbass

Mackanbass