1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Active or passive input with effects

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Denver Max, Mar 14, 2014.


  1. Denver Max

    Denver Max

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    Near Atlanta, GA
    This may be a dumb/noob question, but I have an amp with active and passive inputs. When running a lot of effects, especially dirt and a preamp, would I be better off plugging into the active input even though my bass is passive,? I can't go test it right now because the kid is asleep, I just had this thought. Sometimes my dirt sounds squished through my neck pickup. Would this help?

    I don't want to plug my preamp into the fx loop because I like the extra tone shaping from my amp's eq.
     
  2. Swift713

    Swift713

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    The Berkshires, Ma
    If you get unwanted clipping with the passive input then use the active.
     
  3. JimmyM

    JimmyM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    Apopka, FL
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps
    I never liked using the active inputs for anything but you might.
     
  4. RickenBoogie

    RickenBoogie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Active input is only needed if you can't get a clean signal using the gain knob.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad

Share This Page