Adding handles

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Fletz, Feb 25, 2014.


  1. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3,088
    Disclosures:
    None - but willing to discuss!
    Hello, TBers!

    I just got a Genz Countour 500CTR 115T. It is maybe the best combo I've ever played (outside the near $1K mesas and markbasses). Anyway, I love it.

    What I don't love is the single handle on the top thing. Any advice on how to best install side handles on this bad boy? Where can I get them? How easy/safe is it to install them? I'd put one on each side (Or maybe one on one side, I dunno).

    [​IMG]
    upload by peterdannenfelser, on Flickr
     
  2. bgavin

    bgavin Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2001
    Messages:
    6,137
    Location:
    Orangevale, CA 95662
    Contact Leland at speakerhardware.com

    He is a big Eminence distributor, and also carries all the nuts/bolts/hardware you need.
    He's a standup guy, with excellent pricing and service.
     
  3. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3,088
    Disclosures:
    None - but willing to discuss!
  4. BurningSkies

    BurningSkies Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    17,768
    Location:
    Seweracuse, NY
    http://www.reliablehardware.com/springloadedsurfacemount.aspx

    I've bought from Reliable for years for hardware purchases. Here's their surface mount spring-loaded handle selection. I've been using a handful of these on some monitors I have. I also use a couple bottom mounted ones as 'cab tilts' on a couple wedges.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3,088
    Disclosures:
    None - but willing to discuss!
    A question I have is, I guess, is it really reliable to put a 3-6 screw handle into the side of a 52 lb amp?
     
  7. BurningSkies

    BurningSkies Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    17,768
    Location:
    Seweracuse, NY
    One on each side, and secured properly wouldn't be a problem. If you're not comfortable with an aggressive wood screw, you could use machine screws with nuts on the back, or...I'd use these:

    http://www.reliablehardware.com/10-32t-nutandbolt-rh-5210bo.aspx
     
  8. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3,088
    Disclosures:
    None - but willing to discuss!
    I don't want to take the cabinet apart ... is that a problem?
     
  9. bherman

    bherman Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    I wouldn't see any problem with that. Use good-size screws (at least #10 or 12) and you should be fine. You'll want to make sure that the screws go all the way into and through the case materials (don't overdo it, 1/4///" or so longer should be fine). One way of looking at it is that even if you use 3-screws per handle, thats 6 screws for 52 lbs, or 9 lbs per screw. Not much at all for large screws.
     
  10. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3,088
    Disclosures:
    None - but willing to discuss!
    1/4" screws? (had trouble reading your message) Would 1/2" be too much?
     
  11. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3,088
    Disclosures:
    None - but willing to discuss!
    The site is recomending #8s
     
  12. BurningSkies

    BurningSkies Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    17,768
    Location:
    Seweracuse, NY
    Yeah, I wouldn't be worried about some decent wood screws, if the cab is 1/2" ply, I'd be going for something around 1/2". Also if you're doing TWO handles you have 52/2=26lb...26lbs/5 screws=5ish pounds per screw.
     
  13. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3,088
    Disclosures:
    None - but willing to discuss!
    Thanks, Burningskies! Placing an order now!
     
  14. bherman

    bherman Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Sorry to be so cryptic - I meant 1/4-1/2" beyond the thickness of the cabinet. In other words if it's 1/2" plywood, I'd use a 3/4-1" screw.
     
  15. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3,088
    Disclosures:
    None - but willing to discuss!
  16. agedhorse

    agedhorse Development Engineer-Mesa, Product Support-Genz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,362
    Measure twice!

    Don't put anything near where the amp mounts.

    I would recommend T-nuts and machine screws.
     

Share This Page