1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Adding handles

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Fletz, Feb 25, 2014.

  1. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, TBers!

    I just got a Genz Countour 500CTR 115T. It is maybe the best combo I've ever played (outside the near $1K mesas and markbasses). Anyway, I love it.

    What I don't love is the single handle on the top thing. Any advice on how to best install side handles on this bad boy? Where can I get them? How easy/safe is it to install them? I'd put one on each side (Or maybe one on one side, I dunno).

    [​IMG]
    upload by peterdannenfelser, on Flickr
  2. bgavin

    bgavin Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2001
    Likes Received:
    0
    Contact Leland at speakerhardware.com

    He is a big Eminence distributor, and also carries all the nuts/bolts/hardware you need.
    He's a standup guy, with excellent pricing and service.
  3. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. BurningSkies

    BurningSkies

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Likes Received:
    6
    http://www.reliablehardware.com/springloadedsurfacemount.aspx

    I've bought from Reliable for years for hardware purchases. Here's their surface mount spring-loaded handle selection. I've been using a handful of these on some monitors I have. I also use a couple bottom mounted ones as 'cab tilts' on a couple wedges.
  5. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    A question I have is, I guess, is it really reliable to put a 3-6 screw handle into the side of a 52 lb amp?
  6. BurningSkies

    BurningSkies

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Likes Received:
    6
    One on each side, and secured properly wouldn't be a problem. If you're not comfortable with an aggressive wood screw, you could use machine screws with nuts on the back, or...I'd use these:

    http://www.reliablehardware.com/10-32t-nutandbolt-rh-5210bo.aspx
  7. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't want to take the cabinet apart ... is that a problem?
  8. bherman

    bherman Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldn't see any problem with that. Use good-size screws (at least #10 or 12) and you should be fine. You'll want to make sure that the screws go all the way into and through the case materials (don't overdo it, 1/4///" or so longer should be fine). One way of looking at it is that even if you use 3-screws per handle, thats 6 screws for 52 lbs, or 9 lbs per screw. Not much at all for large screws.
  9. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    1/4" screws? (had trouble reading your message) Would 1/2" be too much?
  10. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    The site is recomending #8s
  11. BurningSkies

    BurningSkies

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah, I wouldn't be worried about some decent wood screws, if the cab is 1/2" ply, I'd be going for something around 1/2". Also if you're doing TWO handles you have 52/2=26lb...26lbs/5 screws=5ish pounds per screw.
  12. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, Burningskies! Placing an order now!
  13. bherman

    bherman Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to be so cryptic - I meant 1/4-1/2" beyond the thickness of the cabinet. In other words if it's 1/2" plywood, I'd use a 3/4-1" screw.
  14. Fletz

    Fletz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. agedhorse

    agedhorse Development Engineer-Mesa, Product Support-Genz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Likes Received:
    3
    Measure twice!

    Don't put anything near where the amp mounts.

    I would recommend T-nuts and machine screws.

Share This Page