1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Adobe Audition vs. Garageband on a Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Waffles and Scotch, Dec 29, 2011.

1. Waffles and Scotch

Waffles and Scotch

Hey guys,

I just got a Macbook Pro for Christmas, and one of my main uses for it will be recording. I'm a newb to recording/mixing/mastering, but I plan on taking some classes on it when I go back to school (been 12yrs since I've studied anything...not sure how easy it'll be to get back on that horse), and want to make sure I have software that will do anything I might need for said classes. Anyway, on my (now deceased) PC I had Adobe Audition and loved it. My new Macbook came with Garageband already installed on it, and I can get an upgraded version of Garageband for $15.

My questions are:
    1. How do the 2 programs stack up against one another?
    2. Has anyone run into any issues using Adobe Audition on a Macbook Pro?
    3. Will there be any conflicts if I use both programs? (not at the same time, obviously)

I'd appreciate any advice you could offer. Thanks in advance!

2. DBCrocky

DBCrocky

I can tell you that I am running Adobe Audition on an old iMac with much success. Since this is the first release of Audition for Mac, I think they did a really good job. I have been with this software since it was Cool Edit Pro, so I have a lot of learning time investment.