Advice needed

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by PhilCo35, Jan 21, 2013.

1. PhilCo35

PhilCo35

My first post here so please excuse my lack of knowledge of many things. For a while I have been lurking and have read with intent (sounds like a criminal charge).

I am a Spoken Word artist who now wishes to use an EUB of my own making to produce various sounds (not necessarily music).

I am modifying a MiniStar Fretless Bass Guitar into a EUB, and have extended the length to 3/4 DB size. I am now assuming the Magnetic Pickup will work for Pizzicato playing, while a Piezo Pickup will be required for Arco.

For those of you familiar with the Ministar, the Bridge (of chrome plated steel) is screw fixed to the end of the instrument. I intend to make a new Bridge (of 3mm thick Brass) of a design where the strings are raised enough for bowing. But still low enough to the neck for the Magnetic Pickup to work for Pizzicato playing.

My question is whether a Piezo Film Pickup will work sandwiched between the brass bridge and the solid wood body of the instrument. Or will the lack of vibration render the idea useless. If so I would need advice on where to place the Piezo Strip for best effect.

I intend to use a Balance Pot between the two pickups with a volume control for each. The EUB would be connected to a EBS Microbass II DI Box then to an Allen & Heath ZED 12FX Mixer.

I don't require the EUB to be a fine sounding instrument such as a Musician would require, but something approximating a known sound from a known type of instrument would be desirable. The sounds at times will be going through processors and at other times the sound (whatever that might be) will be au natural.

Thank you for bearing with me so far.
  2. GrowlerBox

GrowlerBox