1. Please note: We are performing several software upgrades tonight, Sept 29th. Please bear with us. You may notice some formatting issues and other bugs.

Advice on building a '50 Precision Replica please

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JohnnyNoStars, Jul 29, 2013.

1. JohnnyNoStars

JohnnyNoStars

Hi there, I'm new to the forum (so please be gentle... I bruise easily). I've enjoyed 'lurking' for ages now, and have thoroughly enjoyed reading all the valuable insight here - so thanks everyone.

I'd really appreciate some advice and help here:

Although I've been playing bass for over 30 years now, I'm a novice on building them, but that hasn't stopped me trying out a few builds and projects. My next one, is to build a replica 1950's Fender Precision. I'd like it to look visually as authentic as possible, so will be attempting some relic work, with the help of YouTube, etc.

My two immediate questions are:

1. Is there anywhere I can buy an authentic-looking (and good quality) replica of the two-saddle bridge employed on '51-'57 single coil P-Basses (other than those flimsy looking Squire/Vibe jobs)? I doubt I'd get something stamped with a Fender logo and a serial number - and don't worry, I'm not looking to build a fake to pass off as the real thing! This is a bass to keep for life, and a way of testing whether I have any relic skills... especially as I'll never be able to afford the genuine article.

2. I really love that classic P-Bass sound: plenty and plenty of low end, but with a distinct bit of grit, growl and a dirty edge. Is there any internal circuitry I can instal into the tone and volume cavity of a bass; that accentuates and enhances this 'attacking and dirty' tone, without it sounding too distorted or over-driven?