1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Advice on building a board

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by blacklariat09, Jan 6, 2013.

1. blacklariat09

blacklariat09

Hey guys, I'm all new around here and heard about this from a friend and have been a scavenger of information. Anyways, I have been playing bass for several years but finally got my first real bass.

I received a Schecter Omen Extreme 5 String with the active Diamond Pickups.

Anyways, to the point. I have decided I would really like to build a pedal board for playing. I play in a worship setting in a rather post-modern contemporary service on Sunday mornings and sometimes in a youth group setting. Both are pretty "edgy" but requires to play in some of a pocket.

I'd really like to build a board that's versatile but fits in nicely in these situations, here is what I am looking for in general terms, but not necessarily sold out on any of this -

Tuner - (I already have a Korg Pitchblack)
    Distortion - (Bass Big Muff Pi) ??
    Delay
    Reverb
    Chorus
    Volume Pedal
    Adjustable DI - (thinking Tech21 Bass Driver Programmable)

Maybe:
    Graphic EQ - (this is a maybe)
    Octave
    Overdrive/Booster - (not sure on this with an active bass, seen a lot about the Phat Phuk and Sex Drive on here, think I would prefer the Sex Drive)

I am easily willing to cut anything here or add anything. I have used some pedals from other people and tried them out (not on my bass, but another). Used the Boss Delay, Big Muff Pi, Boss Volume Pedal, Fulltone OCD Overdrive, and a Wah (not a huge fan), and the TU-3 Boss Tuner.

The Pitchblack is full bypass that I liked over the TU-3 and liked the pedals I used above.

Thanks for the input guys.

2. Musicman1901

Musicman1901 Supporting Member