Advice wanted

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by TheCatalyst, Jan 13, 2014.

1. TheCatalyst

TheCatalyst

Hey every one, its been a while since I have posted anything here but I need some professional opinions.

I'm designing a bass for myself and wanted to make a set neck instead of a through body design. The reason why is because I want to see how a solid all bocote body would sound mated with a bubinga neck and I have never done a set neck before and would like to give the idea a try.

I will be using bartolini X4 shape soap bars and there will not be a space where the heel sits under the pickup so there would be a section of wood that would look somewhat out of place to me on a solid bocote body.

The idea that came to me was to route a section of the body out below the surface where the neck pocket will be so I may slide the end of the heel into the slot for more contact and a better joint.

Has anyone seen this done before with a set neck and also, has anyone used bocote as a full body before? What sort of tone would you suspect from an entire body of bocote?

Thanks for the help!
    Semper Fidelis
  2. Deep Cat

Deep Cat Supporting Member

Media:
    PRS does this with their guitars, if you are describing what I think you are describing. Check out their youtube videos.
  3. TheCatalyst

TheCatalyst

I will post a drawing of what I'm talking about tomorrow to explain it a little better...
  4. pfox14

pfox14

Never done that combination of woods on anything. Bocote and bubinga are beautiful woods. Hope it works out for you.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. TheCatalyst

TheCatalyst

So... I drew these up in a few minutes so everyone could understand what I was saying a littl better. 1389758436849.jpg
    1389758453587.jpg