1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Aguilar DB680 GAS: Useful EQ range?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by jwasbury, Jul 10, 2012.

1. jwasbury

jwasbury

First off, while I am a relative newb in this place, I have been plucking bass strings for about 25 years. I must admit that until I discoved these forums, I never thought much about the "science" of the gear. After hours of reading, I feel as if I am just discovering how to really use the semi-parametric EQ section on my SWR Grand Prix (after owning it for 15 years or so). So it had been enlightening to me to now be thinking about frequencies as opposed to blindly turning knobs.

So, I find myself suffering a bit of GAS for an Aguilar DB680. When I look at the specs, I see that the frequency ranges for the EQ are 40hz for the Bass knob (shelving type). There is also a "deep" switch that adds boost at 30hz. When I look at the frequency response of most speaker cabs (including my Berg AE210s), they seem to sit around 40hz on average. So is having a bass control at 40hz or a deep switch at 30hz really all that useful?

The lower of the two fully parametric controls starts at a low of 180hz - and goes up to 1.2k and the higher range is 1.3k to 7.5k.