1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Aguilar DB750 problem

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by thejumpcat, Jan 8, 2014.

  1. thejumpcat

    thejumpcat thejumpcat Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    What would cause this head to keep tripping a circuit in my condo? I tried several different outlets, same result.

    I'm using a Neutrik cable into an LDS 8 ohm cab.

    When I hit the power switch, it hits like a halfway position then all the way up and the circuit trips.

    I took the top lid off to see if there was anything obvious. There's a black metal plate, probably 4" square, in the front right. I noticed the large bolt on top was loose so I hand tightened it down and tried again.

    The fans start whirring for a second and then it tripped the circuit again.

    I've got the front panel switch in mute position.

    Help.
  2. JGR

    JGR The "G" is for Gustav Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think some of the earlier ones had issues tripping circuits due to the inrush current from the big toroidal power tranny. Sounds like that is what yours is doing. Probably won't happen on another circuit. Pretty sure Aguilar came up with a soft start fix so I'd give them a call.
  3. thejumpcat

    thejumpcat thejumpcat Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it's my condo! I just plugged it into another outlet and it works. Thanks!
  4. shaft311

    shaft311 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    What else is plugged into that circuit?

    If it becomes a problem, you could put a plug a battery backup unit into the wall and the amp into it to soften the initial load to the utility power panel.
  5. thejumpcat

    thejumpcat thejumpcat Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    This condo is wired oddly. We just bought it in April. The dining room, kitchen and half the family room are all on one circuit! Other circuits have like one outlet to handle. Last night, the amp came on fine on that main circuit; this morning it blew it. Switched to the other in the family room and it blew that. Just for the heck of it, I plugged it into the half-bath outlet, which is GFI (is that the correct term?), and it was fine. As long as it's not the amp, I'm fine.
  6. Ryan L.

    Ryan L. Moderator Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Likes Received:
    0
    My old DB750 did the same thing when we lived in our apartment----I had to have it on a separate circuit or it would trip the breaker every time it started up.
  7. shaft311

    shaft311 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Who can play a DB750 powered rig in an apartment without getting kicked out!? :D
  8. G-MonRV5

    G-MonRV5

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1... That's what I want to know. I figure the O'S problem is his neighbors sneaking in l
    flipping the breaker just to have some peace and quiet.
  9. wcoffey81

    wcoffey81

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    the half bath is probably on it's own circuit, it's supposed to be anyways, and it may be 20 amp too. it sounds like whoever built your condo may have stretched the electrical circuits to the max, maybe even a little too far.
  10. Bass Collector

    Bass Collector

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    I often had this problem, Aguilar sent me a thing called a Thermister and that fixed the problem, talk to them.

Share This Page