Aguilar GS 210 enough?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by sonen, Jan 17, 2013.

1. sonen

sonen

I have a chance to save my back and some space in the van by trading for a smaller cab. I have read great things about the Aguilar GS 210 but wanted to see if anyone is currently using one by itself and how it stacks up to a 4x10 or SWR Triad (my current cab).

I need a lot of low end boom and want to make sure that the 10's can do the job. I am using an 79 SVT head at 4ohms.
  2. Jaco who?

Jaco who?

Maybe, maybe not.
  3. RedMoses

RedMoses Supporting Member

"I need a lot of low end boom" and 2 x 10 are not the best combo, i ran a 2 x10 Mesa/Boogie w a 300 watt amp and everything was fine until i started playing with a harder hitting drummer, moved up to a GS410 and 600 watts and i can hear myself now.
  4. CL400Peavey

CL400Peavey Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    There is no replacement for displacement.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. pasta4lnch

pasta4lnch

^^agreed

fwiw I use a single GS112 and it works fine for a lot of gigs. . . depends on the music, venue size ect.

I've done a few larger places w/ no PA w/ it fine. No loud gtr player in the band, but a drummer. . .
  7. BassmanPaul

BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

I use the 2x10 format exclusively (Acme B2) and I would never consider playing an average gig with just one. I could have done so but I prefer to carry a pair for safety. Halfway through the second set is not the time to realize that you should have brough more than a 2x10.
  8. Bass_Pounder

Bass_Pounder

Unless that cab is loaded with "super 10's" (displacement and sensitivity to match your other cabs), then most likely not.
  9. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

You can't cut your speakers in half and expect the same volume. Maybe you should be looking at 2x12's instead, as they're much closer to the 410 output than a 210 is.
  10. liquid sunshine

liquid sunshine