1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Aircraft maintenance sent overseas. Help settle a debate.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Stanley Student, Nov 15, 2012.

1. Stanley Student

Stanley Student

Hoping the folks here at TB can help settle a debate between a coworker and I about this subject. I have a dog in this fight because I am a licensed aircraft mechanic who spent 18 months in trade school, 6 & 1/2 a day 5 days a week. Any time missed at school had to made up after the fact, so not one minute was missed in your training.
    Maintenance on major US airline carriers is being sent to China as well as other stateside entities.
    The issue I have with this is the people who work on these aircraft are not licensed, have inadequate background checks and are often trained on the job under enormous pressures. In doing so, the job is often done by use of "tribal knowledge".
    All of the major airlines in the US have done this.

Now the debate.....

I don't think people in the states know this is happening. If they did, they would have an issue with it.

He thinks people do know and don't care as long as they can get the cheapest flight humanly possible.

Help settle this debate. There is no wrong or right answer, simply your opinion.
  2. preside

preside

I won't even buy shoes made in China (you know how hard that is) so you know where I stand.
  3. Pilgrim

Pilgrim Supporting Member

I'm not going to say what the OP probably wants me to....