1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Albums to own for a guy interested in jazz and funk?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Sgroh87, Jan 20, 2014.

1. Sgroh87

Sgroh87

I've been playing bass for about six months after six months of guitar and a couple years of saxophone. I have a pretty decent grasp of theory (at least I like to think I do), but I know that I need to listen more.

The problem is that there are so many great artists that have tons of work out there, and its hard to know where to start. Ron Carter, Paul Chambers, Oscar Pettiford, Christian McBride, and all the flashy players like Stanley Clarke, Wooten, and Marcus Miller... It can be overwhelming!

So I turn to you guys to ask the question: If you were to pick any specific album(s) that a serious student should purchase for study and analysis, what would you choose? I have about $65 of iTunes credit left over from Christmas, so give me some music to listen to! I'm mostly into funk/soul (Stax and Motown) or jazz (though I'm not a fusion fan, more like Kind of Blue or Something Else), but I am willing to listen to pretty much anything.
  2. Roy Vogt

Roy Vogt Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Accuracy, Carvin, Hotwire, Conklin Basses, DNA, Eden
  3. Biggbass

Biggbass

Dave Brubeck - Time Out
  4. jefkritz

jefkritz

miles davis - on the corner
    john scofield - a go go
  5. the_stone

the_stone