Am I a 'Brand name' snob?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by TheDepths, Mar 11, 2014.

1. TheDepths

TheDepths Supporting Member

Hello esteemed fellows of TalkBass!

Apologies if this is a much flogged dead horse...

I have noticed that many of you own and speak highly of instruments made by the 'cheaper' brands of major manufacturers (eg. Squier, Epiphone, Stirling) Whilst I have lots of respect for the instruments these makers are putting out these days (in particular Squier) I always wanted the 'real thing'.

When I was looking for a Jazz bass (I've wanted one since I started playing in school) I saved up and bought my MIM 70's Jazz (which they'll have to pry from my cold dead hands....) Now, I've played Squiers in the past which were pretty good, but I gave a CV Jazz a serious play and it is pretty darn close...not quite....but close. So I tried a Stirling.....again, pretty close to my Musicman Stingray.

So I guess you can see what I'm getting at here, Is the extra money for the 'Name' worth it? Would I be happier with cheaper basses but more of them?

Either way, I stand behind my choices.....as a young bassist starting out I never thought I'd own either of these...but I'm glad I do.

Any thoughts or opinions?

Cheers,

Tom
  2. Kmonk

Kmonk

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Fender and Spector, Ampeg, Curt Mangan Strings
    If you're a snob then they probably haven't invented a word to describe me. You said you wanted a "real" jazz but bought an MIM. For me, the only real jazz is MIA. I have never and will never buy an MIM Fender. You can buy a used MIA for a little more than a new MIM. I'm not saying that they are bad instruments but they are not of the same quality in terms of materials and workmanship. Yes, that makes me a gear snob and I'm fine with that. However, I also believe that each of us should play what we like and can afford regardless of what other people think or say.
  3. SanDiegoHarry

SanDiegoHarry Supporting Member