Am I ready to start band?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by tropic owl, Jan 13, 2013.

1. tropic owl

tropic owl

I am new to this, sorry if I posted this in the wrong forum!

I started off playing in a kind of band with a couple kids pushing me into it with no experience and no drummer. I was terrible haha. It happened a second time as well with two other kids but they through me on vocals. Still no drummer! I learned my timing through the second pair of kids for sure then that stopped and I started taking lessons which I feel helped me a lot. I played with one drummer before as well he didn't really know what he was doing though and I had a small amp at the time.

Anyways...... I have been playing for a year and a half now. I don't really have experience playing with a drummer but I play along to some songs and lock in that way and It seems like I have improved. I know how to play a twelve blues scale in different keys. I know some scales and where most of the notes on the bass are and how to read chord sheets and play along. I feel like I could follow a drummer. I can play along to couple songs by the who, a few songs by rancid, and some others as well and bits and parts of a good amount of songs.

I want to start a punk band, I know a kid in my area who wants to as well and he plays guitar and has been for a long time and has band experience and live gig experience. He seems to not be able to find anyone in the area who plays who is not already in a band. He also doesn't know I started playing the bass either. I am thinking about asking to jam my only concern is if he is way better than me and I still need drummer experience which seems like is hard to find in our area. I started off playing with a guitar player when I had no idea what I was doing but I have improved a lot since then too.

Any suggestions?

2. vishuddha

vishuddha 100% Mediocre Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Drum Sales - Guitar Center