Am I severely limiting myself by pick playing?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Pablo Fanque, Apr 13, 2009.

1. Pablo Fanque

Pablo Fanque

My musical background is: two years of violin in the early 80s and self-taught guitar from mid 80s to mid 90s. I still have my guitar but rarely play it (1 or 2 x year) and have just about forgotten everything I knew.

Even though I'm tremendously rusty on guitar, playing bass feels comfortable ONLY with a pick or my thumb. Finger playing seems nearly impossible for me coordination-wise and I don't like the feel of it.

Besides, I'm really really trying to focus on my fretwork; finger coordination, learning chords and scales, etc.

So am I doomed to suck because I cannot and have no desire to finger pick?

2. ReBass

ReBass Supporting Member

Tons of great players were pick players. Play how you feel comfortable. If you find it limits you at some point, teach yourself fingerstyle.

Do a search on here - their have been many threads about this very topic.

3. ransombass

ransombass

Check out Steve Swallow. He's a great jazz bassist who is primarily (if not exclusively) a pick player. Also Joe Osbourne, the bassist for The Wrecking Crew.

4. low-endz

low-endz

Man I am your opposite, I can play fine with thumb and three right fingers but feel uncomfortable with a pick.

Yeah there is allot of bada$$ pick techniques to implement & I cant do none arrg!

Master playing diff techniques with the pick and thumb and later start using your index and finger but dont wait too long or you'll be like me way to uncomfortable to switch.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Pablo Fanque

Pablo Fanque

McCartney is/was also primarily a pick player and he's one of my favorites.

I'm concerned there will be a lot of things I won't be able to play without using my fingers.

7. jgroh

jgroh Supporting Member