Ameg SVT6 PRO help

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by KD8PIQ, Jan 4, 2013.

1. KD8PIQ

KD8PIQ

So my beloved SVT 6 PRO messed up the other day.

I have been running the dog piss out of this amp for 5 years or so, and I love it.

After jamming for some time, the sound just stopped.

I shut it down, and the next day checked it out..

plugging a 8 ohm speaker into the amp, then powering it up..
    as always it takes about 30 sec or so for the final section's relays to engage.. But now when they do engage, it is as the amp is fully loading the speaker. With all the pot's at min, and nothing plugged into the input, the speaker is jumping full hard out of its cage.

I am a competent technician, but have never worked on an bass amp such as this.

I am guessing a fet, or few died on me.. But even after removing the screws holding them to the heatsink I cant get them to budge.

I found replacements at mouser for cheep, but before I go messing anything up I though I would try and research for help on this project.
    I have obtained schematics through Ampeg.
    Any good info on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time,
    -Scott

2. two fingers

two fingers Loud Mouth Know It All Blowhard Gold Supporting Member

There's a guy here named Gerrold (forgive me if I misspelled it) who used to work for Ampeg. If I'm not mistaken, he may have even been involved in the SVT6 project somehow. Anyway, he is very helpful ans usually comes up with the answer after asking a few questions. If he doesn't come by, somebody else will jump all over it. Love this place!

3. KD8PIQ

KD8PIQ

Thanks for the input. I hope to get it fixed soon.

4. B-string

B-string Supporting Member

Jerrold Tiers is the man. If the speakers jump out and stay there the amp is outputting DC and will fry your speakers. Jerrold may know if this amp has DC protection that has failed as well.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Jerrold Tiers

Jerrold Tiers

hah..... yes, you have DC.....