Amp add-ons

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by TheGreatSealof, Mar 24, 2014.

1. TheGreatSealof

TheGreatSealof Supporting Member

I am not a pro player. My rig is a Line6 lowdown 400 amp, a GK4x10 cab paired with a Hartke 1x15 cab.

I enjoy the options built in the amp, i.e deep switch, compressor, etc.

However, I have noticed that many professional players combine other equipment with their rigs, i.e. equalizers, etc. I am not sure what other equipment are relevent.

I want to achieve the beautiful, full, continuous bass sound of, for example, Lee Sklar. I have heard him a couple of times live with James Taylor and his sound is so full and encompassing regarding bass presence.

What can I buy to shape a similar sound?

Thanks in advance.
  2. beans-on-toast

beans-on-toast

The question is, were you hearing his rig, or a combination from a mic'ed cab or a DI through the PA.

Perhaps what you are looking for is a REDDI.
  3. Downunderwonder

Downunderwonder

A guitarist, as opposed to a mix hogging, screaming loud guitard.
  4. IPYF

IPYF

Falling down the rabbit-hole of rack gear and stomp boxes is fun and a great way of disposing of your pesky paycheque. My experience has been though that I came out the other side of it gassing for a simple uncomplicated lightweight rig with no bells and whistles.

You already have a good rig, so there's little point in effing with the program unless you know enough to define what you're missing. Even then you'll end up spending a large sum of money on making slight improvements and tone-chasing can quickly degenerate into a kind of consumer pareidolia. Extend caution.
  5. rodl2005

rodl2005

Well said. 😉😉😉
  6. BurningSkies

BurningSkies

7. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Lee Sklar could plug a standard Precision into a practice amp and still sound amazing. He's used a ton of different equipment over the years and always manages to kill in his own unique style.