1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Amp chaining question

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by VoodooChild, Dec 30, 2013.

  1. VoodooChild

    VoodooChild

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I have aguilar 350 watt and markbass 250 watt head. Is it possible to plug my bass into the aguilar and run a XLR cable from the aguilar di out to the markass front xlr input?
    Is the signal too hot? Will I get timing issues?

    Thanks!
  2. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Likes Received:
    9
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Yes; probably not; maybe. The "maybe" is just a question of whether any phase alterations along the way will be audible. Listen for weak, thin lows and low mids. May not be a problem.
  3. VoodooChild

    VoodooChild

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for responding. I have also the option to take the DI out of a sadowsky pre pedal. Is that a better idea?
  4. GreggBummer

    GreggBummer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'd try the DI from the Sadowski. Then each amp is getting fed the same signal, more or less.
  5. orangejulius3

    orangejulius3 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is there a certain reason?
    Are you trying to utilize 2 amps with 2 cabs rated @4 ohms?
    Are you trying to Bi-amp to get 2 different sounds?
  6. VoodooChild

    VoodooChild

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    The reason is I have a 8 ohm and a 4 ohm speaker. I also like to have 2 amps and 2 cabs at any time, so i will always have backup. And as you guys already know, these heads are really light.
  7. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Likes Received:
    9
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    It's at least worth trying.
  8. Pimmsley

    Pimmsley

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    I never really thought about timing/phase issues running two separate amps, but with A-D conversion as part of a class D amps architecture (if I understand it right), you might be right... Especially with two different model/brand amps... I'm hella curious what you find out !
  9. VoodooChild

    VoodooChild

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK ... now that I know i will not harm my amps or speakers i will try. Expect my response early next year ... OP WILL deliver!
  10. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Likes Received:
    9
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    There is no A/D conversion in class D. However every analog gain stage and EQ stage can alter the phase.

Share This Page