Amp chaining question

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by VoodooChild, Dec 30, 2013.


  1. VoodooChild

    VoodooChild

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Hello,

    I have aguilar 350 watt and markbass 250 watt head. Is it possible to plug my bass into the aguilar and run a XLR cable from the aguilar di out to the markass front xlr input?
    Is the signal too hot? Will I get timing issues?

    Thanks!
  2. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    PDX, OR
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Yes; probably not; maybe. The "maybe" is just a question of whether any phase alterations along the way will be audible. Listen for weak, thin lows and low mids. May not be a problem.
  3. VoodooChild

    VoodooChild

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Thank you for responding. I have also the option to take the DI out of a sadowsky pre pedal. Is that a better idea?
  4. GreggBummer

    GreggBummer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Exit 4, NJ
    I'd try the DI from the Sadowski. Then each amp is getting fed the same signal, more or less.
  5. orangejulius3

    orangejulius3 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Location:
    La Habra CA
    Is there a certain reason?
    Are you trying to utilize 2 amps with 2 cabs rated @4 ohms?
    Are you trying to Bi-amp to get 2 different sounds?
  6. VoodooChild

    VoodooChild

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    The reason is I have a 8 ohm and a 4 ohm speaker. I also like to have 2 amps and 2 cabs at any time, so i will always have backup. And as you guys already know, these heads are really light.
  7. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    PDX, OR
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    It's at least worth trying.
  8. Pimmsley

    Pimmsley

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I never really thought about timing/phase issues running two separate amps, but with A-D conversion as part of a class D amps architecture (if I understand it right), you might be right... Especially with two different model/brand amps... I'm hella curious what you find out !
  9. VoodooChild

    VoodooChild

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    OK ... now that I know i will not harm my amps or speakers i will try. Expect my response early next year ... OP WILL deliver!
  10. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    PDX, OR
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    There is no A/D conversion in class D. However every analog gain stage and EQ stage can alter the phase.
    mbelue likes this.
  11. VoodooChild

    VoodooChild

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Just a little late but i can confirm this works well.

Share This Page