Amp Choices???

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by gsprice696, Feb 9, 2014.

1. gsprice696

gsprice696

:help: Okay so some of you may have seen my posts on the bass forum that I'm new to the bass (I haven't bought one yet or started playing) but with that said I also know that'm I'm going to need and amp. I don't really know which would be a good one to go with. I do like the GK Amps but I think they r a little out of my price range. I'm trying to get an amp that's no more than $100-$150 but if I could find a really good one fore less then I'm all for it also. Please Keep in mind I'm in an apartment so I don't need to blow the doors off this place but I don't want to sacrifice great sound either. any help would be great. Thanks!

PS I'm not above using a used amp either but new is always good.

2. Sartori

Sartori

If I were on a tight budget, I wouldn't even consider new.

Used GK stuff is pretty good and might be affordable.

3. kookykrispy

kookykrispy

If you're just learning, it sounds like you need just a decent smaller amp for practicing. I'd go for a solid state combo, but something with enough power that you can go jam with a drummer and a guitarist and your bass will cut through the other instruments. Even if you are just starting out, once you figure out a few baselines and how to keep time, playing with other musicians will help you get better quickly.