Amp Classes

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by BulbousMoses, Apr 15, 2014.

1. BulbousMoses

BulbousMoses

I always see references to this amp being a Class D amp or that amp being a Class A etc etc..but I have no knowledge of what the different classes mean and why you might want one over another. Is there anyone who can explain this in layman's terms. I'm not an electronics guy so if you get into heavy jargon, I'll be lost!

2. DogBone

DogBone

It's a letter designation that is basically referring to the "power amp" side of an amplifier.

Letters are typically assigned in the order that the generation was developed, and one shouldn't really read anything more into it than that.

Specific links:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amplifier

http://electronicdesign.com/analog/understanding-amplifier-operating-classes

What it means to you as a musician:

Class A : very musical, precise, lower output power. Can be solid state or tube.

Class AB : what we think of when we talk about the typical musical amplifier, can be tube or transistor (solid state). Good sound, high output power.

Class D : lightweight, efficient. These are the micro amps that everyone is talking about that only weigh a few pounds. Solid state all the way, unless it has a tube in the preamp or something but that would be it.

Anyway, hope this is helpful.

3. BulbousMoses

BulbousMoses

Very helpful. When you say, with regards to Class A, that it is "precise", what does that mean in musical terms? The amp I have recently ordered is a Class A amp and from the videos and sound clips I have heard, it seems to be a very clean, uncolored amp (which is what I want)

4. KJung

KJung

Class A amps are very rare. You are probably reading spec's for the preamp.

Class of amp really means very little. A well designed amp of any class will add or subtract very little from the tonality of an amp of any type.