Amp for a semi-poor high-school band student.

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by StoneTempleCore, Feb 15, 2014.

1. StoneTempleCore

StoneTempleCore

Hello TB. I'm a high school student who has around $160 in his pocket (but can ask for more, and parents could help pay for the amp), and I'd like to upgrade from my Fender Rumble 15. It's a great amp, but I'm forming a band with a hard hitting drummer who knows his stuff. I'd figure that I'd ask you guys what's my best option, since many of you are experienced bassists who know much more than me (no sarcasm intended).

I've taken a walk around the block once or twice just to narrow down what I like:
    - Ampeg, Fender, and Acoutic are my top three brands, but any reliable brand would do.
    - I prefer an emphasis on low-mids (defined, not muddy), and I also play a Jazz Bass with DiMarzio Ultra Jazzes, an SX 5 string, and DR/D'Addario strings (if that matters)
    - I play funk, rock, R&B, and a little bit of soul. I mainly play fingerstyle and slap often. Very rarely do I pick.
    - I don't mind if it's ceramic or neo, or any other magnet. I can also handle the weight (I have a somewhat stocky build.)
    - Preferably 100 watts or more, I may need it for jazz band in the upcoming months.
    - I don't mind new or used

Along with that last note, I may have a chance to get a Ampeg Portaflex PF-210HE for $250. I won't be able to afford a head though. Could I just plug my Rumble 15 into the 210 for now?

Hope this helps, thanks!

2. mrb327

mrb327 Supporting Member

Look into the 150 & 350 fenders, they are on close out and are discounted.

Otherwise think used

3. DogBone

DogBone

Used Ampeg BA115 combos $150 or less all day long where I live.

Also Peavey is sorta the "go to" brand for used budget rigs that can hang with a drummer.

4. fjadams

fjadams Supporting Member

Might look at the GK combo amps. The used version I amps are floating around from all the upgrade to version II.