1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Amp on a budget?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by CfoScoop, Jan 28, 2014.

1. CfoScoop

CfoScoop Supporting Member

I'm new to the whole amp world, so I wanted opinions and answers on this:
    -Combo amp or amp/head?
    -Solid State or Tube?
    -Size?
    -Power?

Also, I don't have a bunch of money to spend, so something that won't break the bank. I'm thinking about 500 max.
    Thanks

2. Pokerdweebz

Pokerdweebz Supporting Member

3. Downunderwonder

Downunderwonder

Used head and cab. Upgrading is easier.

4. jeff7bass

jeff7bass

I would normally agree going with head/cab over a combo, but the Genz Benz Contour combos are such a sick deal right now I HAVE TO recommend them. EBAY has them new for 350 bucks and Amazon has them for 399.00. STEAL for a combo with a 500w amp and good speakers. 115 and 210 versions available.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Linnin

Linnin

+1 Agree that is one of the best bass amp bargins out there.

Sweetwater is offering their remaining stock of version two Fender Rumbles at firesale prices as they close them out.

I wouldn't drag your feet on either one, so get while the gettin' is good. :bassist:

7. rickwolff

rickwolff Supporting Member

I had recently bought a GK MB115 used as a backup for my Phil Jones Super Flightcase (and to use for EB gigs).

Saw a comment on TB that the GB Contour was 'the best deal on the planet'.

Just ordered and received one through ProStarAudio thru ebay. This is an INCREDIBLE AMP. I immediately resold the GK and am loving this new amp. I do a lot of surfing for deals online and I don't think you can touch this much quality amp at this price.

Granted, its 52 pounds instead of 38 for the 115 GK, the GK 212 is 41 pounds.