1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Amp question from newb

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Squawk, Feb 28, 2014.

1. Squawk

Squawk

So I have a Fender 100 rumble combo. I'm just getting into playing bass after years of acoustic. Hopefully be gigging bars in about a year. Have no experience with any other combo amps, cabinets or heads. The size and weight are more than I want to carry around just for jamming. And I don't know if it is what I need to so small bar gigs.

As far as the sound, I have nothing to compare it to as this is my first amp.

Suggestions? I'd like something smaller to practice with. Lugging around a 60 lb amp for jamming is silly to me, and anytime I'm jamming practicing with a drummer, I'm going through a PA.

But if I'll need it to gig, then I guess I'll keep it.
  2. Mosfed

Mosfed The mighty mighty Supporting Member

I would think that something like the Genz Benz shuttle series would be right up your alley. Light, super powerful and now that Fender is shutting them down, they are available for amazing prices.

I have never been a fan of the Rumble series. I see them as practice amps as they aren't loud enough for most gigs and even the quietest drummer that I play with totally drowns it out. But that is just me. Many people adore the series and have great success with it.
  3. Wallygator

Wallygator