1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Amp to mixer

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by JoelB, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. JoelB

    JoelB

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am sure this question has been answer a million times, but I'll ask anyway.
    Acoustic B100 Amp need to connect to PA/Mixer at church setting. Amp has speaker out, effects in and out ports all 1/4"
    Have DI box to connect between amp and Mixer.
    Use the effects out port--correct????
  2. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    Most DI boxes connect between instrument and amplifier. Doesn't your amp have an XLR on the back for just this purpose??
  3. JoelB

    JoelB

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. I wish it did.
  4. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Likes Received:
    9
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Is there a reason you want the amp's output going to the PA, instead of just your clean bass signal?
  5. JoelB

    JoelB

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    For it to be heard in the auditorium, it would way too loud for the others in the group. I have it run directly to the mixer now. But the thinking is that I may get the sound I want if I have more control from the floor via the amp.
  6. DWBass

    DWBass The Funkfather Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Likes Received:
    3
    Disclosures:
    Kohlman Bassworks
    Use your DI box. Use your amp for your own monitoring and send a signal to the PA.
  7. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Likes Received:
    9
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Exactly. Go:
    bass --> DI box
    DI box 1/4" --> amp --> your ears
    DI box XLR --> mixer --> audience

    Don't try to EQ for the whole room, especially not with the limited controls on that amp. :)
  8. mblackford

    mblackford

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bass -> DI
    XLR out from DI -> mixer
    1/4" out from DI -> input of bass amp
  9. JoelB

    JoelB

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great.
    Use effects out to mixer correct? Not speaker out.
  10. dalkowski

    dalkowski

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nope, you go from the DI box to both the mixer and the amp.
  11. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Likes Received:
    9
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Well, that's totally ignoring the advice you were given...

    Definitely DO NOT use the speaker out. You can use the effects out, but depending on the specific amp design, you may have to also run another patch cord back from the 1/4" out of the DI box back into the fx loop return--otherwise you may not get any signal from your amp's speaker. Again, this may vary from amp to amp.
  12. JoelB

    JoelB

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for being stupid, I just want to understand so I don't damage any equipment.
    I plug in the DI in to the amp using the port I normally plug into when using the amp alone with the bass. Not any of the effect, line out, speaker out ports.
    Again, my apologies.
    Thanks guys.
  13. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Likes Received:
    9
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Plug your bass directly into the INPUT of the DI box. It will be labeled "in" or "input".

    Plug the 1/4" OUTPUT of the DI box into the jack that you would normally plug your bass into.
  14. JoelB

    JoelB

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent.
    Thank you for your help.
    Ya'll are the best.
  15. hover

    hover

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I totally laughed at that. :smug:

    Owners manuals are your friend...

Share This Page