1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Ampeg Amps for Recording: SVT 3-Pro vs. SVT Classic

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by 1dstoner, Mar 18, 2014.

1. 1dstoner

1dstoner

Talkbass Brothers, I did a search and didn't find an answer for my question so I am posting it for posterity sake.

I am currently recording with the band and dig the Ampeg tone. I have a SVT 3 - Pro which I gig with, but have the availability to use a friends SVT Classic. I have heard the cabs do matter most for the sound which is desired but I am new to this process and would like the best possible tone. The guy doing the recording prefers to do di...but I like the cab sound augmenting the di. Do any of you have experience with either/or both of these amps? The band sound is a Pop Jazz, so think smooth chest thumping bass! Any feedback is appreciated. I know there are a lot of opinions. But over all thoughts of versatility of the amps would be great. Haters need not comment. Thanks!

2. inri222

inri222

I did a studio recording once with and SVT Classic going through an SVT 810E miked on one track and at the same time a direct signal to another track.
    The combination of both sounded real good and provided lots of versatility for mixing.

3. Ender_rpm

Ender_rpm

Media:
    I had a 3 Pro about 10 years ago, and did some DI recording with it, kind of a jazzy feel, and it sounded awesome. Unless you are gonna drive the amp hard enough to make it really wake up, which IMO is unlikely in a "jazz" recording situation with an SVT, I'd go DI from the 3 pro.

Or get a smaller tube head in the 30-100w range and make it sweat in an insolation booth for mid and grind, whilst still taking the DI from the 3 pro. Like borrow the guitarists amp and run it through your 210.

4. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures: