ampeg b-100r, is an amp power cord fixable or changeable?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Richard Sabines, Nov 5, 2012.


  1. Richard Sabines

    Richard Sabines

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    479
    is an amp power chord fixable or changeable? I got a sweet Ampeg b-100r, but the previous owner get rid of the grounded piece of the power cord and it makes a little noise, I guess with the normal grounded 3 piece cord it will be fine
     
  2. Stephent28

    Stephent28 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    616
    Location:
    C470, CO
    Yes, just rewire it from the initial connections on the amp.
     
  3. Richard Sabines

    Richard Sabines

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    479
    looking inside of the control panel the cord is attached to various cables, I don't want to mess it up
     
  4. oerk

    oerk

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Then take it to a tech. Shouldn't be expensive. Tinkering with mains voltage can be lethal.

    Doesn't have to be an amp tech, every electrician should be able to fix it.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. walterw

    walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,054
    so it's fine up to the actual plug?

    anybody with a clue about these things could snip that plug off and install a new one from the hardware store, easy peasy.
     
  7. LHbassist

    LHbassist

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Media:
    1
    Location:
    Reno, Nevada
    You can buy a heavy duty, but cheap three prong plug at any Home Depot, Lowes, or any Ace or other hardware store. I've replaced these numerous times over the years. There's NO danger if you simply cut the old plug off, and strip back the insulation on the wires. The terminals the wires will go to are screw type. Any handyman could do it for 10 bucks, if you cannot. It is exactly the same operation for any appliance that uses a standard 110 v. plug! There is a black, white and green wire- ask someone in the store where they go on the new plug you just bought.
    Like repairing the end on a 1/4" cable, same thing. And, of course- make sure the plug is not still connected to the wall when you cut it off!

    A complete new a/c cord can also be installed in the amp itself. If the cable is fine up to the plug, then it's an easy fix, as described above.
     
  8. anderbass

    anderbass

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,696
    Location:
    Phoenix. Az.
    LHbassist is right. If you carried your B100R into most any Ace hardware store and bought a replacement grounded plug, they'd prolly instal it if you asked. (for free) Most of those Ace hardware store guys will go out of their way to be helpful like that!
     
  9. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    13,856
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    I would like to add that you should purchase the best quality plug you can find. The "Hospital" style of plug is much better than the common rubber types.
     
  10. mtlbasslad

    mtlbasslad Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Rawdon Quebec Canada
    Sounds like you only need to replace the plug, the very best are made by Hubbell...

    Personally, I found the original cord too stiff, so I replaced the entire cord with a better quality, more flexible one. Not a tough job apart from sgueezing the strain relief in & out.

    Good luck!
     
  11. Andyman001

    Andyman001 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    944
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Most replacement plugs are color coded. Black wire to the brass colored screw, white wire to the silver colored screw, and green wire to the green colored screw.
     

Share This Page