Ampeg B-15s - new speaker for different tone?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by auftakt, Jan 30, 2013.

1. auftakt

auftakt

Hello!

New guy here. I've been reading your forums quite a bit to try and learn a little more about bass amps. I am a guitarist originally but recently started playing bass as well. Last week I picked up an absolute mint condition 1979 Ampeg B-15s. Not a bad first bass amp!

While I'm loving the tone for more old-school kind of sounds, I'm not entirely convinced that the sound is appropriate for the current project I'm playing in. Believe it or not, I find the sound a little too thick and boomy.

I realize that this is largely a factor of cabinet and room. However, I am wondering if any of you have replaced the speaker in the cabinet to give a slightly more balanced sound? It currently has a square magnet Eminence driver. Are the newer Eminence offerings (thinking Beta/Delta) a little more flat in their response?

I'd love to hear anyone's experiences with changing speakers in their 70s B-15!

Thanks!

[​IMG]
  2. spacebassed

spacebassed

For vintage I'd throw an Altec or EV in there, for current manufacture its hard to beat a Beta or Delta in these - yours is in superb condition!

EDIT: If you're looking to get more midrange cut the Altec would be my choice, the Beta/Delta sounds pretty similar to the square mag CTS that were often used in the old portaflexes.
  3. auftakt

auftakt

I'd definitely be going for current manufacture. I'd like something that counteracts the 100-175Hz boost I am perceiving from the cabinet -- it's currently a bit too boomy for my tastes.
  4. gbarchus

gbarchus

Don't forget JBL.
  5. P-oddz

P-oddz Supporting Member

Man, that thing is CLEAN!!!
    Congrats!
  6. auftakt

auftakt

Thanks for the kind words, folks. I too was surprised at the condition of this one!

gbarchus: have you compared the JBL vs Eminence old and new by any chance? Any comments as to their boominess?
  7. fazeka

fazeka