Ampeg BA 115 Combo vs Fender Rumble 115

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by lilcrate, Oct 24, 2013.

1. lilcrate

lilcrate Supporting Member

I am pretty new to playing and picked up the Ampeg combo off of Craigslist for $175. It isn't bad, but it buzzes really bad which drives me nuts and really doesn't have many features. I just saw a Fender Rumble 115 on Craigslist for $100. Both have 100 watts I believe but the Fender seems to have some better features (4 vs. 3 band EQ, compression, effects loop, mid scoop, active/passive switch, etc) and hopefully doesn't buzz!. I am playing a Fender Jazz bass.

Should I pick it up the Fender and give it a try?

2. eagle67

eagle67

I played them both recently, and I thought the Ampeg had a smoother sound. The Fender was louder, but to my ears sounded harsh at high volume.

3. Linnin

Linnin

It is always worth auditioning a Fender Rumble that meets your requirements vs any and all other bass amps in your price range. They sound great and are very competitive. The Fender Rumble 150 combo is the best selling bass combo in the USA. :cool:

4. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

If the Ampeg you bought was used, there's a good chance it's not functioning properly. Could have a damaged driver. Many players push those small combo amps well beyond what they're capable of delivering. Test using NEW amps, and judge from there.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. vin*tone

vin*tone

Funny you should ask. I was rehearsing in a school music room last night and had both these amps plugged in and turned on so quickly A/Bed to see which I'd jam with. I was impressed with the volume of both. They easily kept up with the annoyingly loud guitarist. I preferred the Ampeg as it seemed to have a more even tone. The Rumble seemed a bit boomy and blurry for my likes. Granted - the Rumble was on the floor and the Ampeg was on a chair but I was really impressed with the little Peg.

7. Batmensch

Batmensch