Ampeg PF-115HE or PF-210HE

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by bassman2011, Feb 24, 2013.


  1. bassman2011

    bassman2011

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    I am using a PF500 with a PF-115HE. I want to expand, but not sure if I want to add another 115 or the 210. Any suggestions? Also debating on getting the new PF800.
  2. CL400Peavey

    CL400Peavey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Media:
    11
    Albums:
    1
    Location:
    Grand Rapids Michigan
    If you have the 115he then its a no brainer to get a second one. More of what you like.

    As far as the PF-800 goes, unless you are going to ditch your current cab and get a bigger one, the additional power wont net you any more usable volume. The 500 will already have your cabs pushed pretty close to their limits.

    Now if you were looking at upgrading to a more capable speaker, then the 800 might make sense.
  3. tekdiver500ft

    tekdiver500ft I'm your Huckleberry... Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Location:
    Saint Johns, Michigan
    ^^^ what he said. You know you like the PF115E, why take the risk that you might not like the PF210E? Stick with a known quantity.
  4. bassman2011

    bassman2011

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Ok it will be another 115HE. So you are saying if I keep the pf500 with the two 115s, the pf800 wont make a difference with the vo0lume and headroom. Thanks guys.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. RickenBoogie

    RickenBoogie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Correct. Yes, you'll have more headroom, but it won't get any louder, as the spkrs will already be working as hard as they can.
  7. bassman2011

    bassman2011

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    So actually getting an extra cab wont make a difference in the sound and volume in which I am getting now with one cab? Maybe I am misunderstanding. Thanks for everyones input BTW.
  8. bassman2011

    bassman2011

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    I should explain better. Right now I am using a PF500 head with a PF-115HE bottom. If I add another PF155HE what benefits will I be getting? Will it make any difference?
  9. tekdiver500ft

    tekdiver500ft I'm your Huckleberry... Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Location:
    Saint Johns, Michigan
    You'll get a noticeable increase in volume by adding a second cab- about seven decibels (six for the second cab, and one or two for the added power output). The PF-800 won't give you more volume with those two cabs than the PF-500 will, though.
  10. bassman2011

    bassman2011

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Great! That was the answer I was looking for. Thanks everyone for your input and help!
  11. Shatmusket

    Shatmusket

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    ^ is rockin a PF500 with a PF115HE and just ordered a PF115LF. Can't wait to hear it rumble the house!
  12. bassman2011

    bassman2011

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Ok, one more question. Right now I am using a speakon cable to connect to my 1-115. When I add my second 115HE how do I correctly connect both speakers to my PF500. Thanks!
  13. tekdiver500ft

    tekdiver500ft I'm your Huckleberry... Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Location:
    Saint Johns, Michigan
    Connect the first cab to the amp, and the second cab to the first.
  14. Srirachaglo

    Srirachaglo

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Location:
    New York City
    Hasn't this topic been beaten to death in the 350/500 megathread? No offense to the OP... just saying.

    [Steps down from tower]: I thoroughly enjoy both of my PF-115s!
  15. bassman2011

    bassman2011

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Not beaten to death when I need some answers.
  16. bassman2011

    bassman2011

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Thanks Tecdiver for the info. Well appreciated buddy.
  17. tekdiver500ft

    tekdiver500ft I'm your Huckleberry... Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Location:
    Saint Johns, Michigan
    Not a problem. Glad I could help.
  18. Srirachaglo

    Srirachaglo

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Location:
    New York City
    Now I feel like a jerk. I think I'm just territorial about threads outside the 350/500 thread because I spent so much time, frustration, and learning there.

    I have a PF-800 on order and can't wait. Good luck to you, sir! Enjoy the rig!!
  19. bassman2011

    bassman2011

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    No problem. Enjoy your PF800. But just to be sure what tecdiver said, I will stack my 2 pf115HE'S. The speakon cable will go from the head to the top cab. The output jack from the top cab to the bottom cab input jack. Is this the right way? This is a first for me with two cabs and I want to be sure it is hooked up correctly to be the most efficient. Thanks! :bassist:
  20. JimmyM

    JimmyM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    Apopka, FL
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    You can do that, or you can run separate cables from each speaker out into each cab separately. Either way you go is fine and makes no difference at all.
  21. tekdiver500ft

    tekdiver500ft I'm your Huckleberry... Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Location:
    Saint Johns, Michigan
    Yup, what Jimmy said. Just be sure to use speaker cables, not instrument.

Share This Page