Ampeg PF-350 Portaflex with Acoustic B410 Cabinet

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by cornbrains, Feb 10, 2013.

1. cornbrains

cornbrains

Hey you guuuuyyysss,

I am a newbie looking to start to assemble some gear. I am not much of a gear head as I have mainly played acoustic guitar. I have a bass and am looking to purchase a half stack. I am looking at the Ampeg PF-350 to sit atop an Acoustic B410 Cabinet. I really don't understand this whole resistance/impedance thing. I will be in small spaces, hence the 10" speakers. When I jam with my friends, its just a drummer and guitarist and the noise isn't over the top loud by any means. I will eventually add a 15" cabinet.

I was looking at Ampeg 410 cabinets but they get pricey. I see the Acoustic B410 and thought it was a much better deal. My question is if the two products that I have linked below will work well together. Thanks for your input.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/amplifiers-effects/ampeg-pf-350-portaflex-350w-bass-amp-head

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/amplifiers-effects/acoustic-b410-400w-4x10-bass-cabinet

2. Bass_Pounder

Bass_Pounder

Why would you want to add a 1X15 later ?

3. b-b-b-bass

b-b-b-bass

Pair up the PF-350 with a quality lightweight speaker like the GK112 NEO...
    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/amplifiers-effects/gallien-krueger-neo-112-ii-1x12-300w-bass-cabinet

Then, IMHO, you will have a rig that will satisfy and delight you for years to come. It will be LOUD too! You can always add a second cab later on, if you absolutely have to be louder.

I play loud rock in a bar band, an in my situations my PF-350 into a home built 1x12 cab has never been lacking anything. And it is so freakin' easy to transport and store.:smug:

4. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    You can do much better for a cab than Acoustic IMHO. I'm sure money's tight so that's why you're considering it, but skimp on anything else but don't skimp on the cab.