1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Ampeg pf500 compressor

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by mjpbass, May 16, 2013.

1. mjpbass

mjpbass

Following some recent advice, I want to start trying (lots of) compression on my sound.

Now, I have ZERO experience with compression, Ive just bought an ampeg pf500 with a built in compressor on it, and I'd like to know how good a compressor has this amp got? Is it worthy of using lots of often, or was it just something they added to the head as another (but useless) selling point? Being that its only 1 knob, how does it weigh up to buying an actual compressor for my setup?

Any answers would be greatly appreciated, and before I get torn apart, yes I searched, but there are like 5000 posts about these heads, and the search function on the talkbass phone app is TERRIBLE.

Thanks for your time y'all
  2. CL400Peavey

CL400Peavey Supporting Member

If you can hear a compressor greatly effecting your sound, you are using it wrong. IMHO the compressor on the PF-500 is decent. Not fantastic, but pretty good in the context of the amp. You should really only see it lighting up on your hardest hits.
  3. orangejulius3

orangejulius3 Supporting Member

I have the same amp. Been messing with it lately.

I have a rackmounted compressor and it's complicated, :confused: it has lots of knobs and numbers and a threshold. hahaha. :D