Ampeg Portaflex or Acoustic b450?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by bammons30, Jan 26, 2014.

1. bammons30

bammons30

Im looking into buying one of these 2 amps.

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Acoustic-B450mkII-450W-Bass-Combo-Amp-107901548-i2497482.gc

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Ampeg-PF-500-Portaflex-and-PF-210HE-Stack-431105-i1821347.gc

I have played Ampegs before and I know their quality and am very pleased with it. But this Acoustic amp really interests me. I like the portaflex overall with its power, sound, and fliptop. But this Acoustic amp is a combo which just makes carrying everything easier. Both can put out the power I need and want considering I can hook up another 4 ohm cabinet to the acoustic amp and get up to 600 watts.

the main issue is i have no experience with Acoustic at all so i dont know their reputation or quality all that well. Can anyone give me opinions on these 2?

Money is also a factor. and with the Acoustic being cheaper its definitely something im considering. Either one i buy will be bought used also.

2. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

The Acoustic is entry level, with really cheap spkrs. Ampeg is a much better choice.

3. Zoa

Zoa

I play an Acoustic stack. Get the Ampeg. The Acoustic heads are alright if you like clean thump. They're more powerful that their wattage ratings, and are durable, but heavy. Their cabinets use cheap speakers and are shoddily constructed.

4. inri222

inri222

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. CL400Peavey

CL400Peavey Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    As good as that Ampeg is, I dont prefer that ampeg cab. I suggest you look at the PF-115LF instead of the "HE" series cabs.

7. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I like the HE series fine ;) The HLF and LF go too low for my tastes. So does the PF115he, but it's somewhat controllable.

8. CL400Peavey

Media:
    Albums:
    As long as he is playing an Ampeg though.... Right? ;)

9. JimmyM