Ampeg SVP-Pro Schematic Tutorial

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by bgavin, Jul 23, 2007.

1. bgavin

bgavin Supporting Member

This is an open invitation to the tube gurus to do an in-depth tutorial on the SVP-Pro schematics.

The intent is for others to learn about the various stages of the SVP-Pro, and how they work. Collaboration by the bright minds here will most likely lead to a series of improvements that can be made to this preamp.

I would like to see every section explained, and the pros/cons pointed out in understandable terms.

Link to Main Board Schematic PDF

Link to Tube Board Schematic PDF
  2. smo

smo

I'm no expert on this stuff - but I guess the question most want answered would be how to get rid of the noise/hiss common in these preamps?
  3. bgavin

bgavin Supporting Member

I'd like to see an illuminating discussion lead by tube gurus such as Psycho Bass Guy, and the others.

As with most commercial products, I'm certain the SVP-Pro has compromises made to cheapen the product. The smart tube guys will understand these, and can probably suggest corrections. This might be as simple as replacing caps and resistors with premium parts, or could be a change to the circuit itself. I dunno, I'm not a tube guy.

My area of expertise is speakers and cabinets, which I share freely here. I'm hoping one of the tube guys will do the same.
  4. Jerrold Tiers

Jerrold Tiers

One source of hiss is the FET switch elements used for mute, etc.

It the FET is damaged, particularly ones at input, where they can be abused from outside, it can leak and make a very nasty hissing. It MAY "almost work" also, so that is not necessarily a clue.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Williamsburgjim

Williamsburgjim

I bought an svp-cl last year new from a local shop, which had been there awhile. I wanted to try the pro, but they were hard to find and the notorious hiss problem seemed to be very prevalent. My question is why does the pro hiss, yet the cl doesn't???????