Ampeg SVT-410HE vs SVT-410HLF

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Jim Powers, Jul 12, 2007.

1. Jim Powers

Jim Powers

I'm thinking of building a new rig with these cabinets. I like the compact size of the SVT-410HE; but is there a tone difference between the two that is significant? I'll be going out for a playoff before I decide, but what do you guys recommend? I'll probably use an Ampeg SVT450 head and be playing mostly rock but want to be flexible.

2. chutsk10

chutsk10

The 4x10HE is sealed (giving a tighter top end) and the HLF is ported, the HLF can achieve slightly lower frequencies.

Personally I play a 4x10HE but I pair it with a 1x18 for the low end. If you are using it as a stand alone cab I hear the HLF preforms much better but I have no experience to back that up. The HE does sound good as a stand alone but I lost clarity on the low notes when I tried runnign my 5'er throguh it.

Definately try them both out if you can, that's the only real way to see what you prefer.

3. bass.player

bass.player

I owned a hlf and it is a great cab. As a stand-alone it gives an amazing amount of low-end, you won't miss a 15".
    But I found it too dark sounding to I traded it for 2 410HE's.
    As a stand-alone the 410HE is probably a bit thin.

4. Jim Powers

Jim Powers

Thanks for your thoughts guys (fellow RIC Club Members); I'm really leaning toward trading all my gear in on a rig with several of the 410HEs based on what I've read in various reviews, but I will have to play them off against the HLF to decide. It sounds like multiple HE cabs may make up for the lack of lower end. I have a BA210 combo now and like the tone, though it is vented out the back and is probably not comparable to the 410 cabs.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. chutsk10

chutsk10