Ampeg SVT-CL

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by dollarsign_wag, Dec 27, 2013.

1. dollarsign_wag

dollarsign_wag

Okay, so this summer I finally had enough money to buy the amp of my dreams the Ampeg SVT-CL along with an Ampeg 4x10HE cab. I bought them both off of the Guitar Center website and had them shipped to the nearest store. The head was used and the cab was brand new. My only worry was that the head was somewhere around $800 which was shocking considering that they usually sell for much more than that. The description on the site mentioned that it was used and had a few cosmetic issues, but mentioned no technical problems. I've been playing it since this summer and from what I can tell it sounds all good, but I'm a tube noob and pretty naive. So things to look for that could be wrong with it that aren't glaringly obvious to me and just any ideas on what could cause this drastically lowered price would be thoroughly appreciated.

2. Selta

Selta

Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: EBMM
    I would find a local tech that's familiar with SVTs and have them give it a once over. It'll probably cost you $50-$75 for the bench fee.
    I've seen GC list SVTs pretty cheaply though with no issues what so ever. Most likely you just got a pretty good deal. Congrats!

3. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    If it sounds good, it's fine. Enjoy, and consider getting a second 410he because it sounds so awesome with an 810!

4. dollarsign_wag

dollarsign_wag

Ok cool well thanks a lot ill take it to the place where i take lessons i always see them fixing up tube amps. thanks!

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. B-string

B-string Gold Supporting Member

The price may have been higher for some time. There comes a point where you just need to free up the floor space and get some cash flow. Sounds like you got a good deal!

7. coreyfyfe

coreyfyfe Supporting Member